Special Collections

Feuchtwanger Memorial Library
Horton Rare Book Room

Library Hours

  • Special Collections
  • Mon May 17
    By Reservation
  • Tue May 18
    By Reservation
  • Wed May 19
    By Reservation
  • Thu May 20
    By Reservation
  • Fri May 21
    By Reservation
  • Sat May 22
    Closed
  • Sun May 23
    Closed
  • Mon May 24
    By Reservation
  • Tue May 25
    By Reservation
  • Wed May 26
    By Reservation
  • Thu May 27
    By Reservation
  • Fri May 28
    By Reservation
  • Sat May 29
    Closed
  • Sun May 30
    Closed
  • Mon May 31
    Closed
  • Tue Jun 01
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 02
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 03
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 04
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 05
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 06
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 07
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 08
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 09
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 10
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 11
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 12
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 13
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 14
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 15
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 16
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 17
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 18
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 19
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 20
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 21
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 22
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 23
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 24
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 25
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 26
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 27
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 28
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 29
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 30
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 01
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 02
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jul 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jul 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jul 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jul 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 11
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 12
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 13
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jul 14
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jul 15
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jul 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jul 17
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 18
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jul 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jul 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jul 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jul 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 26
    Schedule Pending

Beginning Monday, March 15th, Special Collections will be open for research to USC faculty, students and staff, by appointment.  Please visit https://libraries.usc.edu/reservations-specialarchival-research for information on how to access collections and campus.

Below please find information on library services & resources available online, as well as helpful information about electronically available primary sources.

COVID-19 USC Libraries Updates on Services & Programs

Research Guide with Information on Electronically available Primary Sources

Research Guide with General Information on working with Primary Sources

Are you an instructor and want to work with us on integrating primary sources and primary source literacy into your (online) teaching? Contact us at specol@usc.edu.
Check out our teaching platform for primary source literacy which offers modules on various topics which students can explore synchronously or asynchronously.

 

General contact:
Reference desk: DML Rm 209
Phone: 213 740 5900
specol@usc.edu

Head: Sue Luftschein

 

Overview

Special Collections at the University of Southern California oversees the university's primary source collections including archives, manuscripts, historic photographs, and rare books. The department holds more than 200,000 volumes, more than 1000 archival collections, and more than 2 million photographs. 

Our mission is to lend intellectual excitement and vitality to the campus and community through access to our collections of archives, rare books, and other unique materials. We accomplish this by offering public programming, exhibits and instructional support, and preserving, promoting and fostering access to primary source material in our main areas of strength:  Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Iberian and Latin American Studies; Lewis Carroll and Alice in Wonderland; Lion Feuchtwanger and the European exiles of the 20th century in Southern California; Natural History; Southern California Regional History; and USC history. This provides USC faculty, students and staff  and others outside the university community the opportunity to explore our unique primary source collections for their research and creative projects. 

An account is required to consult our materials. Go to our Specialized Research Collections Request page and register for a free account in our online request service. This online system allows you to make requests for materials, track the progress of your requests and plan your visits to our reading rooms anywhere anytime. After registering for an account, you will be able to request items online directly from USC's online catalog and our online finding aids.

If you are interested in donating rare books, manuscripts, or archives to USC Libraries, please contact John Juricek, Collections Strategist, juricek@usc.edu.

 

Location:

Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway, Room 209
University Park Campus
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0189

MAP: DML (second floor)

 

Follow us on Twitter!
@uscspecol

Follow us on Instagram!
@uscspecol