Special Collections

Feuchtwanger Memorial Library
Horton Rare Book Room

Library Hours

  • Special Collections
  • Tue Oct 26
    By Appointment
  • Wed Oct 27
    By Appointment
  • Thu Oct 28
    By Appointment
  • Fri Oct 29
    By Appointment
  • Sat Oct 30
    Closed
  • Sun Oct 31
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 01
    By Appointment
  • Tue Nov 02
    By Appointment
  • Wed Nov 03
    By Appointment
  • Thu Nov 04
    By Appointment
  • Fri Nov 05
    By Appointment
  • Sat Nov 06
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 07
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 08
    By Appointment
  • Tue Nov 09
    By Appointment
  • Wed Nov 10
    By Appointment
  • Thu Nov 11
    By Appointment
  • Fri Nov 12
    By Appointment
  • Sat Nov 13
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 14
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 15
    By Appointment
  • Tue Nov 16
    By Appointment
  • Wed Nov 17
    By Appointment
  • Thu Nov 18
    By Appointment
  • Fri Nov 19
    By Appointment
  • Sat Nov 20
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 21
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 22
    By Appointment
  • Tue Nov 23
    By Appointment
  • Wed Nov 24
    By Appointment
  • Thu Nov 25
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 26
    Closed
  • Sat Nov 27
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 28
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 29
    By Appointment
  • Tue Nov 30
    By Appointment
  • Wed Dec 01
    By Appointment
  • Thu Dec 02
    By Appointment
  • Fri Dec 03
    By Appointment
  • Sat Dec 04
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 05
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 06
    By Appointment
  • Tue Dec 07
    By Appointment
  • Wed Dec 08
    By Appointment
  • Thu Dec 09
    By Appointment
  • Fri Dec 10
    By Appointment
  • Sat Dec 11
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 12
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 13
    By Appointment
  • Tue Dec 14
    By Appointment
  • Wed Dec 15
    By Appointment
  • Thu Dec 16
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 17
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 18
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 19
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 20
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 21
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Dec 22
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 23
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 24
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 25
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 26
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 27
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 28
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 29
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 30
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 31
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 01
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 02
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 03
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Jan 04
    11am to 5pm

Beginning Monday, July 19, 2021, Special Collections will be open for research to both USC faculty, students and staff, and non-USC researchers, by appointment.  Please visit https://libraries.usc.edu/reservations-specialarchival-research for information on how to access collections and campus.

Below please find information on library services & resources available online, as well as helpful information about electronically available primary sources.

COVID-19 USC Libraries Updates on Services & Programs

Research Guide with Information on Electronically available Primary Sources

Research Guide with General Information on working with Primary Sources

Are you an instructor and want to work with us on integrating primary sources and primary source literacy into your (online) teaching? Contact us at specol@usc.edu. Check out our teaching platform for primary source literacy which offers modules on various topics which students can explore synchronously or asynchronously.

 

General contact:
Reference desk: DML Rm 209
Phone: 213 740 5900
specol@usc.edu

Head: Sue Luftschein

 

Overview

Special Collections at the University of Southern California oversees the university's primary source collections including archives, manuscripts, historic photographs, and rare books. The department holds more than 200,000 volumes, more than 1000 archival collections, and more than 2 million photographs. 

Our mission is to lend intellectual excitement and vitality to the campus and community through access to our collections of archives, rare books, and other unique materials. We accomplish this by offering public programming, exhibits and instructional support, and preserving, promoting and fostering access to primary source material in our main areas of strength:  Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Iberian and Latin American Studies; Lewis Carroll and Alice in Wonderland; Lion Feuchtwanger and the European exiles of the 20th century in Southern California; Natural History; Southern California Regional History; and USC history. This provides USC faculty, students and staff  and others outside the university community the opportunity to explore our unique primary source collections for their research and creative projects. 

An account is required to consult our materials. Go to our Specialized Research Collections Request page and register for a free account in our online request service. This online system allows you to make requests for materials, track the progress of your requests and plan your visits to our reading rooms anywhere anytime. After registering for an account, you will be able to request items online directly from USC's online catalog and our online finding aids.

If you are interested in donating rare books, manuscripts, or archives to USC Libraries, please contact John Juricek, Collections Strategist, juricek@usc.edu.

 

Location:

Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway, Room 209
University Park Campus
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0189

MAP: DML (second floor)

 

Follow us on Twitter!
@uscspecol

Follow us on Instagram!
@uscspecol