Special Collections

Feuchtwanger Memorial Library
Horton Rare Book Room

Library Hours

  • Special Collections
  • Mon Oct 14
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Oct 15
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Oct 16
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Oct 17
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Oct 18
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Oct 19
    Closed
  • Sun Oct 20
    Closed
  • Mon Oct 21
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Oct 22
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Oct 23
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Oct 24
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Oct 25
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Oct 26
    Closed
  • Sun Oct 27
    Closed
  • Mon Oct 28
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Oct 29
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Oct 30
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Oct 31
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Nov 01
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 02
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 03
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 04
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Nov 05
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Nov 06
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 07
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Nov 08
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 09
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 10
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 11
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Nov 12
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Nov 13
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 14
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Nov 15
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 16
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 17
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 18
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Nov 19
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Nov 20
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 21
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Nov 22
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 23
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 24
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 25
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Nov 26
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Nov 27
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 28
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 29
    Closed
  • Sat Nov 30
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 01
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 02
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 03
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Dec 04
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 05
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 06
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 07
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 08
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 09
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 10
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Dec 11
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 12
    11am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 13
    11am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 14
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 15
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 16
    11am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 17
    11am to 5pm
  • Wed Dec 18
    11am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Dec 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Dec 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Dec 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Dec 23
    Schedule Pending

General contact:
Reference desk: DML Rm 209
Phone: 213 740 5900
specol@usc.edu

Head: Sue Luftschein

 

Overview

Special Collections at the University of Southern California oversees the university's primary source collections including archives, manuscripts, historic photographs, and rare books. The department contains more than 200,000 volumes, more than 1000 archival collections, and more than 2 million photographs. 

Our purpose is to collect, preserve, promote and foster access to primary source material in our main areas of strength: Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Iberian and Latin American Studies; Lewis Carroll and Alice in Wonderland; Lion Feuchtwanger and the European exiles of the 20th century in Southern California; Natural History; Southern California Regional History; and USC history.

We collect, preserve, and help our community use these archives, rare books, and other unique materials. We invite all USC undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, and staff to explore our unique primary source collections for your research and creative projects.  In addition, we lend intellectual excitement and vitality to the campus and community through our public programming, exhibits, and work with classes and students.

A research account is required to consult our materials. Go to our Specialized Research Collections Request page and register for a research account. This online request service allows you to make requests for materials, track the progress of your requests and plan your visits to our reading rooms anywhere anytime. After registering for an account, you will be able to request items online directly from USC's online catalog and our online finding aids.

If you are interested in donating rare books, manuscripts, or archives to USC Libraries, please contact John Juricek, Collections Strategist, juricek@usc.edu.

 

Location:

Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway, Room 209
University Park Campus
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0189

MAP: DML (second floor)

 

Follow us on Twitter!
@uscspecol

Follow us on Instagram!
@uscspecol