Architecture & Fine Arts Library

AFA Overview of Stacks
AFA Interior Reading Space

Library Hours

  • Architecture & Fine Arts Library
  • Sat Jan 23
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 24
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 25
    Closed
  • Tue Jan 26
    Closed
  • Wed Jan 27
    Closed
  • Thu Jan 28
    Closed
  • Fri Jan 29
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 30
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 31
    Closed
  • Mon Feb 01
    Closed
  • Tue Feb 02
    Closed
  • Wed Feb 03
    Closed
  • Thu Feb 04
    Closed
  • Fri Feb 05
    Closed
  • Sat Feb 06
    Closed
  • Sun Feb 07
    Closed
  • Mon Feb 08
    Closed
  • Tue Feb 09
    Closed
  • Wed Feb 10
    Closed
  • Thu Feb 11
    Closed
  • Fri Feb 12
    Closed
  • Sat Feb 13
    Closed
  • Sun Feb 14
    Closed
  • Mon Feb 15
    Closed
  • Tue Feb 16
    Closed
  • Wed Feb 17
    Closed
  • Thu Feb 18
    Closed
  • Fri Feb 19
    Closed
  • Sat Feb 20
    Closed
  • Sun Feb 21
    Closed
  • Mon Feb 22
    Closed
  • Tue Feb 23
    Closed
  • Wed Feb 24
    Closed
  • Thu Feb 25
    Closed
  • Fri Feb 26
    Closed
  • Sat Feb 27
    Closed
  • Sun Feb 28
    Closed
  • Mon Mar 01
    Closed
  • Tue Mar 02
    Closed
  • Wed Mar 03
    Closed
  • Thu Mar 04
    Closed
  • Fri Mar 05
    Closed
  • Sat Mar 06
    Closed
  • Sun Mar 07
    Closed
  • Mon Mar 08
    Closed
  • Tue Mar 09
    Closed
  • Wed Mar 10
    Closed
  • Thu Mar 11
    Closed
  • Fri Mar 12
    Closed
  • Sat Mar 13
    Closed
  • Sun Mar 14
    Closed
  • Mon Mar 15
    Closed
  • Tue Mar 16
    Closed
  • Wed Mar 17
    Closed
  • Thu Mar 18
    Closed
  • Fri Mar 19
    Closed
  • Sat Mar 20
    Closed
  • Sun Mar 21
    Closed
  • Mon Mar 22
    Closed
  • Tue Mar 23
    Closed
  • Wed Mar 24
    Closed
  • Thu Mar 25
    Closed
  • Fri Mar 26
    Closed
  • Sat Mar 27
    Closed
  • Sun Mar 28
    Closed
  • Mon Mar 29
    Closed
  • Tue Mar 30
    Closed
  • Wed Mar 31
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 01
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 02
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 03
    Closed

Due to COVID-19, the Architecture & Fine Arts Library (AFA) is closed for an indefinite period.

All library digital collections, services, and programs that support remote teaching and learning remain available online. Due dates have been extended to August 31, 2020.

For updates and additional information on available library services and resources please view  COVID-19 USC Libraries Updates on Services & Programs  

Please contact us at afa@usc.edu if you have questions about the AFA Library, its collections, and services.  

 

Location
Watt Hall
850 Bloom Walk, B-4
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0294

Head: Stacy R. Williams 

Campus map code: WAH

  • AFA Circulation Desk Phone: (213) 740-1956
  • General Email: afa@usc.edu
  • AFA Research Help (architecture, art history, & fine arts): stacyw@usc.edu
    • Primarily for use by USC students, faculty, and staff.
    • Non-USC researchers are welcome to use the AFA library; please email us your research question prior to your arrival: stacyw@usc.edu

About this library

The Architecture & Fine Arts (AFA) Library is located on the ground floor (basement) of Watt Hall (WAH). Watt Hall's entry doors face the courtyard. Go in and take any stairwell or elevator down to reach the ground floor.

AFA Library hours are listed on the USC Libraries hours site. Holiday hours vary. Special Collections/Cage/Rare materials are accessible Mondays-Fridays 9am-5pm. 

Please note that during the academic year the building is open Monday-Friday, 7am-7pm. At all other hours the building is accessible through USC card swipe only.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

Information for researchers not affiliated with USC

The AFA Library is a resource funded primarily for use by USC students, faculty, and staff. Non-USC researchers are welcome to use the AFA library during designated hours. Non-USC users must adhere to the following:

  • The library is open to non-USC users during the academic year Mondays-Fridays, 9am-7pm, and in the summers during posted hours;
  • There is no access to computers or flatbed scanners in the AFA library for those not affiliated with USC; no exceptions;
  • The Doheny Memorial Library is the place to inquire about getting a library card, as described under the "Non-USC" user tab on the lending policies page;
  • To use the photocopier, please purchase a copy card at Doheny Memorial Library;
  • Materials from the Circulation Desk and VHS/DVDs are not accessible without a USC library card; no exceptions;
  • Materials from the Cage and archival materials are available Monday-Friday 9am-4pm in the Rare Books Reading Room only;
  • Please email us prior to your arrival so that we can confirm that the research materials that you need are available for your use: stacyw@usc.edu  

Overview and Collection Use Policies

The Architecture & Fine Arts Library (AFA) is located in a modernist setting designed by Becket Associates and Graeme Morland, a faculty member at the School of Architecture, on the ground floor of Watt Hall. It houses more than 75,000 volumes of books and journals dedicated to the studies of art history, fine arts, and architecture, as well as a notable collection of rare titles and artists' books. In addition, the AFA Library has a growing collection of videos and dvds in the arts and design fields. The AFA Library's collection can be searched through the USC Libraries catalog. The library also has several architectural and public-art archival collections. It is part of the USC Libraries system, and adheres to the USC Libraries policies on access and borrowing privileges.

For policies on using the AFA Library and its collections, go to its Policies page.