Architecture & Fine Arts Library

AFA Overview of Stacks
AFA Interior Reading Space

Library Hours

  • Architecture & Fine Arts Library
Fri Jul 19
noon to 4pm
Sat Jul 20
Closed
Sun Jul 21
Closed
Mon Jul 22
noon to 4pm
Tue Jul 23
noon to 4pm
Wed Jul 24
noon to 4pm
Thu Jul 25
noon to 4pm
Fri Jul 26
noon to 4pm
Sat Jul 27
Closed
Sun Jul 28
Closed
Mon Jul 29
noon to 4pm
Tue Jul 30
noon to 4pm
Wed Jul 31
noon to 4pm
Thu Aug 01
noon to 4pm
Fri Aug 02
noon to 4pm
Sat Aug 03
Closed
Sun Aug 04
Closed
Mon Aug 05
noon to 4pm
Tue Aug 06
noon to 4pm
Wed Aug 07
noon to 4pm
Thu Aug 08
noon to 4pm
Fri Aug 09
noon to 4pm
Sat Aug 10
Closed
Sun Aug 11
Closed
Mon Aug 12
noon to 4pm
Tue Aug 13
noon to 4pm
Wed Aug 14
noon to 4pm
Thu Aug 15
noon to 4pm
Fri Aug 16
noon to 4pm
Sat Aug 17
Closed
Sun Aug 18
Closed
Mon Aug 19
noon to 4pm
Tue Aug 20
noon to 4pm
Wed Aug 21
noon to 4pm
Thu Aug 22
noon to 4pm
Fri Aug 23
noon to 4pm
Sat Aug 24
Closed
Sun Aug 25
Closed
Mon Aug 26
9am to 7pm
Tue Aug 27
9am to 7pm
Wed Aug 28
9am to 7pm
Thu Aug 29
9am to 7pm
Fri Aug 30
9am to 5pm
Sat Aug 31
Closed
Sun Sep 01
Closed
Mon Sep 02
Closed
Tue Sep 03
9am to 7pm
Wed Sep 04
9am to 7pm
Thu Sep 05
9am to 7pm
Fri Sep 06
9am to 5pm
Sat Sep 07
Closed
Sun Sep 08
noon to 6pm
Mon Sep 09
9am to 7pm
Tue Sep 10
9am to 7pm
Wed Sep 11
9am to 7pm
Thu Sep 12
9am to 7pm
Fri Sep 13
9am to 5pm
Sat Sep 14
Closed
Sun Sep 15
noon to 6pm
Mon Sep 16
9am to 7pm
Tue Sep 17
9am to 7pm
Wed Sep 18
9am to 7pm
Thu Sep 19
9am to 7pm
Fri Sep 20
9am to 5pm
Sat Sep 21
Closed
Sun Sep 22
noon to 6pm
Mon Sep 23
9am to 7pm
Tue Sep 24
9am to 7pm
Wed Sep 25
9am to 7pm
Thu Sep 26
9am to 7pm
Fri Sep 27
9am to 5pm

Location
Watt Hall
850 Bloom Walk, B-4
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0294

Head of the Library: Shannon Robinson

Library Supervisor: Antonio 'Tony" Gonzalez

Campus map code: WAH

  • AFA Circulation Desk Phone: (213) 740-1956
  • General Library Email: afa@usc.edu
  • Research help in architecture, art history, & fine arts: Shannon Robinson
    • Primarily for use by USC students, faculty, and staff.
    • Non-USC researchers are welcome to use the AFA library; please email us your research question prior to your arrival: afa@usc.edu

About this library

The Architecture & Fine Arts (AFA) Library is located on the ground floor (basement) of Watt Hall (WAH). Watt Hall's entry doors face the courtyard. Go in and take any stairwell or elevator down to reach the ground floor.

AFA Library hours are listed on the USC Libraries hours site. Holiday hours vary. Special Collections/Cage/Rare materials are accessible Mondays-Fridays 9am-5pm. 

Please note that during the academic year the building is open Monday-Friday, 7am-7pm. At all other hours the building is accessible through USC card swipe only.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

Information for researchers not affiliated with USC

The AFA Library is a resource funded primarily for use by USC students, faculty, and staff. Non-USC researchers are welcome to use the AFA library during designated hours. Non-USC users must adhere to the following:

  • The library is open to non-USC users during the academic year Mondays-Fridays, 9am-7pm, and in the summers during posted hours;
  • There is no access to computers or flatbed scanners in the AFA library for those not affiliated with USC; no exceptions;
  • The Doheny Memorial Library is the place to inquire about getting a library card, as described under the "Non-USC" user tab on the lending policies page;
  • Materials from the Circulation Desk and VHS/DVDs are not accessible without a USC library card; no exceptions;
  • Materials from the Cage and archival materials are available Monday-Friday 9am-5pm in the Rare Books Reading Room only;
  • Please email us prior to your arrival so that we can confirm that the research materials that you need are available for your use: afa@usc.edu 

Overview and Collection Use Policies

The Architecture & Fine Arts Library (AFA) is located in a modernist setting designed by Becket Associates and Graeme Morland, a faculty member at the School of Architecture, on the ground floor of Watt Hall. It houses more than 75,000 volumes of books and journals dedicated to the studies of art history, fine arts, and architecture, as well as a notable collection of rare titles and artists' books. In addition, the AFA Library has a growing collection of videos and dvds in the arts and design fields. The AFA Library's collection can be searched through the USC Libraries catalog. The library also has several architectural and public-art archival collections. It is part of the USC Libraries system, and adheres to the USC Libraries policies on access and borrowing privileges.

For policies on using the AFA Library and its collections, go to its Policies page.