Architecture & Fine Arts Library

AFA Overview of Stacks
AFA Interior Reading Space

Library Hours

  • Architecture & Fine Arts Library
  • Thu Jul 09
    Closed
  • Fri Jul 10
    Closed
  • Sat Jul 11
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 12
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 13
    Closed
  • Tue Jul 14
    Closed
  • Wed Jul 15
    Closed
  • Thu Jul 16
    Closed
  • Fri Jul 17
    Closed
  • Sat Jul 18
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 19
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 20
    Closed
  • Tue Jul 21
    Closed
  • Wed Jul 22
    Closed
  • Thu Jul 23
    Closed
  • Fri Jul 24
    Closed
  • Sat Jul 25
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 26
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 27
    Closed
  • Tue Jul 28
    Closed
  • Wed Jul 29
    Closed
  • Thu Jul 30
    Closed
  • Fri Jul 31
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 01
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 02
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 03
    Closed
  • Tue Aug 04
    Closed
  • Wed Aug 05
    Closed
  • Thu Aug 06
    Closed
  • Fri Aug 07
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 08
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 09
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 10
    Closed
  • Tue Aug 11
    Closed
  • Wed Aug 12
    Closed
  • Thu Aug 13
    Closed
  • Fri Aug 14
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 15
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 16
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 17
    Closed
  • Tue Aug 18
    Closed
  • Wed Aug 19
    Closed
  • Thu Aug 20
    Closed
  • Fri Aug 21
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 22
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 23
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Aug 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Aug 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Aug 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Aug 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Aug 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Aug 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Aug 31
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 02
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Sep 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Sep 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Sep 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Sep 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Sep 11
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Sep 12
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Sep 13
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Sep 14
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 15
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 17
    Schedule Pending

Due to the current medical situation surrounding COVID-19, all USC Libraries, including the Architecture & Fine Arts Library (AFA), will be closed for an indefinite period beginning March 16, 2020.

All library digital collections, services, and programs that support remote teaching and learning remain available online. Due dates have been extended to August 31, 2020.

For updates and additional information on available library services and resources please view  COVID-19 USC Libraries Updates on Services & Programs  

Please contact us at afa@usc.edu if you have questions about the AFA Library, its collections, and services.  

 

Location
Watt Hall
850 Bloom Walk, B-4
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0294

Head: Stacy R. Williams 

Campus map code: WAH

  • AFA Circulation Desk Phone: (213) 740-1956
  • General Email: afa@usc.edu
  • AFA Research Help (architecture, art history, & fine arts): stacyw@usc.edu
    • Primarily for use by USC students, faculty, and staff.
    • Non-USC researchers are welcome to use the AFA library; please email us your research question prior to your arrival: stacyw@usc.edu

About this library

The Architecture & Fine Arts (AFA) Library is located on the ground floor (basement) of Watt Hall (WAH). Watt Hall's entry doors face the courtyard. Go in and take any stairwell or elevator down to reach the ground floor.

AFA Library hours are listed on the USC Libraries hours site. Holiday hours vary. Special Collections/Cage/Rare materials are accessible Mondays-Fridays 9am-5pm. 

Please note that during the academic year the building is open Monday-Friday, 7am-7pm. At all other hours the building is accessible through USC card swipe only.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

Information for researchers not affiliated with USC

The AFA Library is a resource funded primarily for use by USC students, faculty, and staff. Non-USC researchers are welcome to use the AFA library during designated hours. Non-USC users must adhere to the following:

  • The library is open to non-USC users during the academic year Mondays-Fridays, 9am-7pm, and in the summers during posted hours;
  • There is no access to computers or flatbed scanners in the AFA library for those not affiliated with USC; no exceptions;
  • The Doheny Memorial Library is the place to inquire about getting a library card, as described under the "Non-USC" user tab on the lending policies page;
  • To use the photocopier, please purchase a copy card at Doheny Memorial Library;
  • Materials from the Circulation Desk and VHS/DVDs are not accessible without a USC library card; no exceptions;
  • Materials from the Cage and archival materials are available Monday-Friday 9am-4pm in the Rare Books Reading Room only;
  • Please email us prior to your arrival so that we can confirm that the research materials that you need are available for your use: stacyw@usc.edu  

Overview and Collection Use Policies

The Architecture & Fine Arts Library (AFA) is located in a modernist setting designed by Becket Associates and Graeme Morland, a faculty member at the School of Architecture, on the ground floor of Watt Hall. It houses more than 75,000 volumes of books and journals dedicated to the studies of art history, fine arts, and architecture, as well as a notable collection of rare titles and artists' books. In addition, the AFA Library has a growing collection of videos and dvds in the arts and design fields. The AFA Library's collection can be searched through the USC Libraries catalog. The library also has several architectural and public-art archival collections. It is part of the USC Libraries system, and adheres to the USC Libraries policies on access and borrowing privileges.

For policies on using the AFA Library and its collections, go to its Policies page.