Doheny Memorial Library

Doheny Memorial Library Exterior
Doheny Memorial Library LA Times Reference Room

Library Hours

  • Doheny Memorial Library
  • Sat Oct 19
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Oct 20
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Oct 21
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Oct 22
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 23
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 24
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Oct 25
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Oct 26
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Oct 27
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Oct 28
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Oct 29
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 30
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 31
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 01
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Nov 02
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Nov 03
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 04
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 05
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 06
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 07
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 08
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Nov 09
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Nov 10
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 11
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 12
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 13
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 14
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 15
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Nov 16
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Nov 17
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 18
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 19
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 20
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 21
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 22
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Nov 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Nov 24
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 25
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 26
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 27
    8am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 28
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 29
    Closed
  • Sat Nov 30
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 01
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Dec 02
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Dec 03
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 04
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Dec 05
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Dec 06
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Dec 07
    8am to 2am
  • Sun Dec 08
    8am to 2am
  • Mon Dec 09
    8am to 2am
  • Tue Dec 10
    8am to 2am
  • Wed Dec 11
    8am to 2am
  • Thu Dec 12
    8am to 2am
  • Fri Dec 13
    8am to 2am
  • Sat Dec 14
    8am to 2am
  • Sun Dec 15
    8am to 2am
  • Mon Dec 16
    8am to 2am
  • Tue Dec 17
    8am to 2am
  • Wed Dec 18
    8am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 19
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 20
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 21
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 22
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 24
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 25
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 26
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 27
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 28
    Closed

Location
Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0185

Circulation Desk: (213) 740-2924
Reference Desk: (213) 740-4039

Fax: (213) 740-3488
Email: dmlnotes@usc.edu
Campus map code: DML

About this library

The historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library has served as an intellectual center and cultural treasure for generations of students, faculty and staff since it opened in 1932. Created as a memorial to Edward L. Doheny Jr., a USC trustee and alumnus, this landmark building was USC's first freestanding library. Since its doors first opened, it remains one of the university's most important and popular academic facilities.

In addition to housing a vast book and journal collection, Doheny also has spaces for studying, collaborative work, and special events. Students often study in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room or on the ground floor's Arts Corridor, located conveniently close to Doheny's tea house, LiteraTea. To work collaboratively, students may make an in-person reservation for a collaborative workroom in the East Asian Library. For special events and meetings requiring multimedia capabilities, room reservations can be made online for the East Asian Library's seminar room and conference room.

Patrons are also welcome to attend special events and presentations in the Intellectual Commons or to visit exhibits in the Treasure Room and Rotunda/Art's Corridor. Doheny is also home to the Cinematic Arts Library, East Asian Library, Music Library and Special Collections.

Circulation Desk

Doheny's Circulation Desk is the main service point at the library. Staff members and student library assistants are also readily available to answer basic reference and circulation questions at all open hours. Patrons may also request for staff to retrieve DVDs from the East Asian Library collection at the front desk.

Reference/Research Services

While staff members and student library assistants are available to answer basic reference questions during open hours at the front desk, reference librarians are also available for in-depth research assistance Mondays-Thursdays from 11 a.m. to  5 p.m., and Friday from 12 a.m. to 4 p.m.  Librarian assistance is also available by telephone at 213-740-4039, and by email, synchronous live chat, and by appointment through ask-a-librarian

Collections

Doheny Library's main collections are housed on Stacks Levels 9, 5, 4, 2 with bound journals and East Asian books on Stacks Level 1. These levels can be accessed through the doorway marked "Bookstacks" behind the front desk. The main Reference and Classics collections are housed in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room to the right of the front desk. Recent editions of scholarly and popular journals and newspapers are located in the Current Periodicals Room. To the left of the front desk is the East Asian Library which contains reference and current periodicals in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages. Special Collections is located on the 2nd floor.

Directions

Doheny Library is located in the center of campus, adjacent to Alumni Park and across from Bovard Auditorium, on Trousdale Avenue. The closest parking available is at Gate #2 which has an entrance on Exposition Boulevard at Pardee Way.

For more information regarding parking on campus, visit the Parking Services Website.