Doheny Memorial Library

Doheny Memorial Library Exterior
Doheny Memorial Library LA Times Reference Room

Library Hours

  • Doheny Memorial Library
  • Wed Nov 25
    Closed
  • Thu Nov 26
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 27
    Closed
  • Sat Nov 28
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 29
    Closed
  • Mon Nov 30
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 01
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 02
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 03
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 04
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 05
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 06
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 07
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 08
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 09
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 10
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 11
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 12
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 13
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 14
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 15
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 16
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 17
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 18
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 19
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 20
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 21
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 22
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 23
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 24
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 25
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 26
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 27
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 28
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 29
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 30
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 31
    Closed
  • Fri Jan 01
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 02
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 03
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 04
    Closed
  • Tue Jan 05
    Closed
  • Wed Jan 06
    Closed
  • Thu Jan 07
    Closed
  • Fri Jan 08
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 09
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 10
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 11
    Closed
  • Tue Jan 12
    Closed
  • Wed Jan 13
    Closed
  • Thu Jan 14
    Closed
  • Fri Jan 15
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jan 17
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jan 18
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jan 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jan 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jan 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jan 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jan 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jan 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jan 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jan 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jan 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jan 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jan 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jan 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jan 31
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Feb 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Feb 02
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Feb 03
    Schedule Pending

Due to the current situation regarding COVID-19, the USC Libraries will be closed for an indefinite period beginning March 16, 2020. Please contact us at dmlnotes@usc.edu for assistance.

Below please find information on library services & resources available online, as well as helpful information about electronically available primary sources.

COVID-19 USC Libraries Updates on Services & Programs

Research Guide with Information on Electronically available Primary Sources

Research Guide with General Information on working with Primary Sources

For email and chat help with research and other library services, visit https://libraries.usc.edu/ask-a-librarian

Location
Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0185

Circulation Desk: (213) 740-2924
Reference Desk: (213) 740-4039

Fax: (213) 740-3488
Email: dmlnotes@usc.edu
Campus map code: DML

About this library

The historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library has served as an intellectual center and cultural treasure for generations of students, faculty and staff since it opened in 1932. Created as a memorial to Edward L. Doheny Jr., a USC trustee and alumnus, this landmark building was USC's first freestanding library. Since its doors first opened, it remains one of the university's most important and popular academic facilities.

In addition to housing a vast book and journal collection, Doheny also has spaces for studying, collaborative work, and special events. Students often study in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room or on the ground floor's Arts Corridor, located conveniently close to Doheny's tea house, LiteraTea. To work collaboratively, students may make an in-person reservation for a collaborative workroom in the East Asian Library. For special events and meetings requiring multimedia capabilities, room reservations can be made online for the East Asian Library's seminar room and conference room.

Patrons are also welcome to attend special events and presentations in the Intellectual Commons or to visit exhibits in the Treasure Room and Rotunda/Art's Corridor. Doheny is also home to the Cinematic Arts Library, East Asian Library, Music Library and Special Collections.

Circulation Desk

Doheny's Circulation Desk is the main service point at the library. Staff members and student library assistants are also readily available to answer basic reference and circulation questions at all open hours. Patrons may also request for staff to retrieve DVDs from the East Asian Library collection at the front desk.

Reference/Research Services

While staff members and student library assistants are available to answer basic reference questions during open hours at the front desk, reference librarians are also available for in-depth research assistance Mondays-Thursdays from 11 a.m. to  5 p.m., and Friday from 12 a.m. to 4 p.m.  Librarian assistance is also available by telephone at 213-740-4039, and by email, synchronous live chat, and by appointment through ask-a-librarian

Collections

Doheny Library's main collections are housed on Stacks Levels 9, 5, 4, 2 with bound journals and East Asian books on Stacks Level 1. These levels can be accessed through the doorway marked "Bookstacks" behind the front desk. The main Reference and Classics collections are housed in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room to the right of the front desk. Recent editions of scholarly and popular journals and newspapers are located in the Current Periodicals Room. To the left of the front desk is the East Asian Library which contains reference and current periodicals in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages. Special Collections is located on the 2nd floor.

Directions

Doheny Library is located in the center of campus, adjacent to Alumni Park and across from Bovard Auditorium, on Trousdale Avenue. The closest parking available is at Gate #2 which has an entrance on Exposition Boulevard at Pardee Way.

For more information regarding parking on campus, visit the Parking Services Website.