Doheny Memorial Library

Doheny Memorial Library Exterior
Doheny Memorial Library LA Times Reference Room

Library Hours

  • Doheny Memorial Library
  • Thu Jun 24
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 25
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 26
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 27
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 28
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 29
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 30
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 01
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 02
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 03
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 04
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 05
    Closed
  • Tue Jul 06
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jul 07
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 08
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 09
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 10
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 11
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 12
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jul 13
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jul 14
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 15
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 16
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 17
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 18
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 19
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jul 20
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jul 21
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 22
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 23
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 24
    Closed
  • Sun Jul 25
    Closed
  • Mon Jul 26
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jul 27
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jul 28
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 29
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 30
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 31
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 01
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 02
    By Reservation
  • Tue Aug 03
    By Reservation
  • Wed Aug 04
    By Reservation
  • Thu Aug 05
    By Reservation
  • Fri Aug 06
    By Reservation
  • Sat Aug 07
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 08
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 09
    By Reservation
  • Tue Aug 10
    By Reservation
  • Wed Aug 11
    By Reservation
  • Thu Aug 12
    By Reservation
  • Fri Aug 13
    By Reservation
  • Sat Aug 14
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 15
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 16
    By Reservation
  • Tue Aug 17
    By Reservation
  • Wed Aug 18
    By Reservation
  • Thu Aug 19
    By Reservation
  • Fri Aug 20
    By Reservation
  • Sat Aug 21
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 22
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Aug 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Aug 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Aug 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Aug 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Aug 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Aug 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Aug 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Aug 31
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 02
    Schedule Pending

For information about Doheny Library's limited opening to current USC students, faculty, and staff, please check Spring 2021 at the USC Libraries | USC Libraries. Please contact us at dmlnotes@usc.edu for additional assistance.

Below please find information on library services & resources available online, as well as helpful information about electronically available primary sources.

Research Guide with Information on Electronically available Primary Sources

Research Guide with General Information on working with Primary Sources

For email and chat help with research and other library services, visit https://libraries.usc.edu/ask-a-librarian

Location
Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0185

Circulation Desk: (213) 740-2924
Reference Desk: (213) 740-4039

Fax: (213) 740-3488
Email: dmlnotes@usc.edu
Campus map code: DML

About this library

The historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library has served as an intellectual center and cultural treasure for generations of students, faculty and staff since it opened in 1932. Created as a memorial to Edward L. Doheny Jr., a USC trustee and alumnus, this landmark building was USC's first freestanding library. Since its doors first opened, it remains one of the university's most important and popular academic facilities.

In addition to housing a vast book and journal collection, Doheny also has spaces for studying, collaborative work, and special events. Students often study in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room or on the ground floor's Arts Corridor, located conveniently close to Doheny's tea house, LiteraTea. To work collaboratively, students may make an in-person reservation for a collaborative workroom in the East Asian Library. For special events and meetings requiring multimedia capabilities, room reservations can be made online for the East Asian Library's seminar room and conference room.

Patrons are also welcome to attend special events and presentations in the Intellectual Commons or to visit exhibits in the Treasure Room and Rotunda/Art's Corridor. Doheny is also home to the Cinematic Arts Library, East Asian Library, Music Library and Special Collections.

Circulation Desk

Doheny's Circulation Desk is the main service point at the library. Staff members and student library assistants are also readily available to answer basic reference and circulation questions at all open hours. Patrons may also request for staff to retrieve DVDs from the East Asian Library collection at the front desk.

Reference/Research Services

While staff members and student library assistants are available to answer basic reference questions during open hours at the front desk, reference librarians are also available for in-depth research assistance Mondays-Thursdays from 11 a.m. to  5 p.m., and Friday from 12 a.m. to 4 p.m.  Librarian assistance is also available by telephone at 213-740-4039, and by email, synchronous live chat, and by appointment through ask-a-librarian

Collections

Doheny Library's main collections are housed on Stacks Levels 9, 5, 4, 2 with bound journals and East Asian books on Stacks Level 1. These levels can be accessed through the doorway marked "Bookstacks" behind the front desk. The main Reference and Classics collections are housed in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room to the right of the front desk. Recent editions of scholarly and popular journals and newspapers are located in the Current Periodicals Room. To the left of the front desk is the East Asian Library which contains reference and current periodicals in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages. Special Collections is located on the 2nd floor.

Directions

Doheny Library is located in the center of campus, adjacent to Alumni Park and across from Bovard Auditorium, on Trousdale Avenue. The closest parking available is at Gate #2 which has an entrance on Exposition Boulevard at Pardee Way.

For more information regarding parking on campus, visit the Parking Services Website.