Grand Avenue Library

Grand Avenue Library Building Exterior
Grand Avenue Library Book Stacks

Library Hours

  • Grand Avenue Library
Fri Jul 19
By Appointment
Sat Jul 20
Closed
Sun Jul 21
Closed
Mon Jul 22
By Appointment
Tue Jul 23
By Appointment
Wed Jul 24
By Appointment
Thu Jul 25
By Appointment
Fri Jul 26
By Appointment
Sat Jul 27
Closed
Sun Jul 28
Closed
Mon Jul 29
By Appointment
Tue Jul 30
By Appointment
Wed Jul 31
By Appointment
Thu Aug 01
By Appointment
Fri Aug 02
By Appointment
Sat Aug 03
Closed
Sun Aug 04
Closed
Mon Aug 05
By Appointment
Tue Aug 06
By Appointment
Wed Aug 07
By Appointment
Thu Aug 08
By Appointment
Fri Aug 09
By Appointment
Sat Aug 10
Closed
Sun Aug 11
Closed
Mon Aug 12
By Appointment
Tue Aug 13
By Appointment
Wed Aug 14
By Appointment
Thu Aug 15
By Appointment
Fri Aug 16
By Appointment
Sat Aug 17
Closed
Sun Aug 18
Closed
Mon Aug 19
By Appointment
Tue Aug 20
By Appointment
Wed Aug 21
By Appointment
Thu Aug 22
By Appointment
Fri Aug 23
By Appointment
Sat Aug 24
Closed
Sun Aug 25
Closed
Mon Aug 26
By Appointment
Tue Aug 27
By Appointment
Wed Aug 28
By Appointment
Thu Aug 29
By Appointment
Fri Aug 30
By Appointment
Sat Aug 31
Closed
Sun Sep 01
Closed
Mon Sep 02
Closed
Tue Sep 03
By Appointment
Wed Sep 04
By Appointment
Thu Sep 05
By Appointment
Fri Sep 06
By Appointment
Sat Sep 07
Closed
Sun Sep 08
Closed
Mon Sep 09
By Appointment
Tue Sep 10
By Appointment
Wed Sep 11
By Appointment
Thu Sep 12
By Appointment
Fri Sep 13
By Appointment
Sat Sep 14
Closed
Sun Sep 15
Closed
Mon Sep 16
By Appointment
Tue Sep 17
By Appointment
Wed Sep 18
By Appointment
Thu Sep 19
By Appointment
Fri Sep 20
By Appointment
Sat Sep 21
Closed
Sun Sep 22
Closed
Mon Sep 23
By Appointment
Tue Sep 24
By Appointment
Wed Sep 25
By Appointment
Thu Sep 26
By Appointment
Fri Sep 27
By Appointment

Location
3434 South Grand Avenue - 2nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90089

Phone: (213) 821 2045

E-mail: grandlib@usc.edu
Campus map code: CAL

 

About this library

Grand Avenue Library houses a collection of lesser used but important materials in a variety of formats, as well as older editions that have been retained for research purposes. Currently holding more than 1.5 million volumes in its 81,000 square feet, the library reflects USC Libraries' commitment to retaining and preserving the continuously growing print collection. Grand Avenue Library offers electronic paging of its holdings through the online Libraries Catalog. Paged materials are delivered to Leavey Library's Circulation Desk, typically within one business day, and held for the requestor for 10 days. Patrons also have the option to pick up materials at the Architecture and Fine Arts Library.

Access

All patrons with a valid USC library card may use the electronic paging service through the Libraries Catalog or, if necessary, may make an appointment to visit the facility by emailing grandlib@usc.edu. Appointments are available between 9:00 AM to 5:00  PM Monday through Friday. The Grand Ave. Library is located on the second floor of the Carol Little Building (CAL), three blocks east of campus, at Jefferson Blvd. and Grand Ave. All visitors must have a picture I.D. to enter the building.

Collections

  • Monographs
    The Grand Avenue Library's monograph collection covers every academic discipline. Early 20th century literature and science are particularly well represented.
  • Journals
    The library's journals collection includes a large number of scholarly journals. The journals are for library use only, but may be paged to Leavey Library or the Architecture and Fine Arts Library.
  • Audio/Visual
    The Grand Avenue Library contains thousands of historic vinyl records, laser disc, cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes and DVDs.
  • Microfilm
    The microfilm/microfiche and microcards collection includes a wide variety of journals, newspapers and the Early American Imprints series.
  • Government Documents
    The Grand Avenue Library's holdings include most of the USC's Government Documents collection (VKC Library holds Government Documents collection as well). These can be paged and viewed in the same manner as the library's other materials. For more information on accessing the Government Documents collection contact Tanya Zarotsky at (213) 821-0987 or zarotsky@usc.edu. Note: Non-USC patrons may access the Government Documents collection. For appointments and access instructions please call (213) 821-2045.