Grand Avenue Library

Grand Avenue Library Building Exterior
Grand Avenue Library Book Stacks

Library Hours

  • Grand Avenue Library
  • Thu Apr 02
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 03
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 04
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 05
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 06
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 07
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 08
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 09
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 10
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 11
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 12
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 13
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 14
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 15
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 16
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 17
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 18
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 19
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 20
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 21
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 22
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 23
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 24
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 25
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 26
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 27
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 28
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 29
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 30
    Closed
  • Fri May 01
    Closed
  • Sat May 02
    Closed
  • Sun May 03
    Closed
  • Mon May 04
    Closed
  • Tue May 05
    Closed
  • Wed May 06
    Closed
  • Thu May 07
    Closed
  • Fri May 08
    Closed
  • Sat May 09
    Closed
  • Sun May 10
    Closed
  • Mon May 11
    Closed
  • Tue May 12
    Closed
  • Wed May 13
    Closed
  • Thu May 14
    Closed
  • Fri May 15
    Closed
  • Sat May 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun May 17
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon May 18
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue May 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed May 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu May 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri May 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat May 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun May 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon May 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue May 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed May 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu May 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri May 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat May 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun May 31
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jun 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jun 02
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jun 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jun 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jun 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jun 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jun 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jun 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jun 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jun 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jun 11
    Schedule Pending

Location
3434 South Grand Avenue - 2nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90089

Phone: (213) 821 2045

E-mail: grandlib@usc.edu
Campus map code: CAL

 

About this library

Grand Avenue Library houses a collection of lesser used but important materials in a variety of formats, as well as older editions that have been retained for research purposes. Currently holding more than 1.5 million volumes in its 81,000 square feet, the library reflects USC Libraries' commitment to retaining and preserving the continuously growing print collection. Grand Avenue Library offers electronic paging of its holdings through the online Libraries Catalog. Paged materials are delivered to Leavey Library's Circulation Desk, typically within one business day, and held for the requestor for 10 days. Patrons also have the option to pick up materials at the Architecture and Fine Arts Library.

Access

All patrons with a valid USC library card may use the electronic paging service through the Libraries Catalog or, if necessary, may make an appointment to visit the facility by emailing grandlib@usc.edu. Appointments are available between 9:00 AM to 5:00  PM Monday through Friday. The Grand Ave. Library is located on the second floor of the Carol Little Building (CAL), three blocks east of campus, at Jefferson Blvd. and Grand Ave. All visitors must have a picture I.D. to enter the building.

Collections

  • Monographs
    The Grand Avenue Library's monograph collection covers every academic discipline. Early 20th century literature and science are particularly well represented.
  • Journals
    The library's journals collection includes a large number of scholarly journals. The journals are for library use only, but may be paged to Leavey Library or the Architecture and Fine Arts Library.
  • Audio/Visual
    The Grand Avenue Library contains thousands of historic vinyl records, laser disc, cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes and DVDs.
  • Microfilm
    The microfilm/microfiche and microcards collection includes a wide variety of journals, newspapers and the Early American Imprints series.
  • Government Documents
    The Grand Avenue Library's holdings include most of the USC's Government Documents collection (VKC Library holds Government Documents collection as well). These can be paged and viewed in the same manner as the library's other materials. For more information on accessing the Government Documents collection contact Tanya Zarotsky at (213) 821-0987 or zarotsky@usc.edu. Note: Non-USC patrons may access the Government Documents collection. For appointments and access instructions please call (213) 821-2045.