Grand Avenue Library

Grand Avenue Library Building Exterior
Grand Avenue Library Book Stacks

Library Hours

  • Grand Avenue Library
  • Tue Aug 04
    Closed
  • Wed Aug 05
    Closed
  • Thu Aug 06
    Closed
  • Fri Aug 07
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 08
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 09
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 10
    Closed
  • Tue Aug 11
    Closed
  • Wed Aug 12
    Closed
  • Thu Aug 13
    Closed
  • Fri Aug 14
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 15
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 16
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 17
    Closed
  • Tue Aug 18
    Closed
  • Wed Aug 19
    Closed
  • Thu Aug 20
    Closed
  • Fri Aug 21
    Closed
  • Sat Aug 22
    Closed
  • Sun Aug 23
    Closed
  • Mon Aug 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Aug 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Aug 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Aug 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Aug 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Aug 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Aug 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Aug 31
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 02
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Sep 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Sep 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Sep 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Sep 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Sep 11
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Sep 12
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Sep 13
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Sep 14
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 15
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 17
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Sep 18
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Sep 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Sep 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Sep 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Sep 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Sep 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Sep 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Sep 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Sep 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Sep 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Sep 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Oct 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Oct 02
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Oct 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Oct 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Oct 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Oct 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Oct 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Oct 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Oct 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Oct 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Oct 11
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Oct 12
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Oct 13
    Schedule Pending

Location
3434 South Grand Avenue - 2nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90089

Phone: (213) 821 2045

E-mail: grandlib@usc.edu
Campus map code: CAL

 

About this library

Grand Avenue Library houses a collection of lesser used but important materials in a variety of formats, as well as older editions that have been retained for research purposes. Currently holding more than 1.5 million volumes in its 81,000 square feet, the library reflects USC Libraries' commitment to retaining and preserving the continuously growing print collection. Grand Avenue Library offers electronic paging of its holdings through the online Libraries Catalog. Paged materials are delivered to Leavey Library's Circulation Desk, typically within one business day, and held for the requestor for 10 days. Patrons also have the option to pick up materials at the Architecture and Fine Arts Library.

Access

All patrons with a valid USC library card may use the electronic paging service through the Libraries Catalog or, if necessary, may make an appointment to visit the facility by emailing grandlib@usc.edu. Appointments are available between 9:00 AM to 5:00  PM Monday through Friday. The Grand Ave. Library is located on the second floor of the Carol Little Building (CAL), three blocks east of campus, at Jefferson Blvd. and Grand Ave. All visitors must have a picture I.D. to enter the building.

Collections

  • Monographs
    The Grand Avenue Library's monograph collection covers every academic discipline. Early 20th century literature and science are particularly well represented.
  • Journals
    The library's journals collection includes a large number of scholarly journals. The journals are for library use only, but may be paged to Leavey Library or the Architecture and Fine Arts Library.
  • Audio/Visual
    The Grand Avenue Library contains thousands of historic vinyl records, laser disc, cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes and DVDs.
  • Microfilm
    The microfilm/microfiche and microcards collection includes a wide variety of journals, newspapers and the Early American Imprints series.
  • Government Documents
    The Grand Avenue Library's holdings include most of the USC's Government Documents collection (VKC Library holds Government Documents collection as well). These can be paged and viewed in the same manner as the library's other materials. For more information on accessing the Government Documents collection contact Tanya Zarotsky at (213) 821-0987 or zarotsky@usc.edu. Note: Non-USC patrons may access the Government Documents collection. For appointments and access instructions please call (213) 821-2045.