Library for International & Public Affairs

VKC Library Courtyard
VKC Library Interior

Library Hours

  • Library for International & Public Affairs
  • Tue Oct 26
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 27
    9am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 28
    9am to 10pm
  • Fri Oct 29
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Oct 30
    Closed
  • Sun Oct 31
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 01
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 02
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 03
    9am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 04
    9am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 05
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 06
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 07
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 08
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 09
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 10
    9am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 11
    9am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 12
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 13
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 14
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 15
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 16
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 17
    9am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 18
    9am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 19
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 20
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 21
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 22
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 23
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 24
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 25
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 26
    Closed
  • Sat Nov 27
    Closed
  • Sun Nov 28
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 29
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 30
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 01
    9am to 10pm
  • Thu Dec 02
    9am to 10pm
  • Fri Dec 03
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 04
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 05
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Dec 06
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Dec 07
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 08
    9am to 10pm
  • Thu Dec 09
    9am to 10pm
  • Fri Dec 10
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 11
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 12
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Dec 13
    9am to 10pm
  • Tue Dec 14
    9am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 15
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 16
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 17
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 18
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 19
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 20
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 21
    9am to 5pm
  • Wed Dec 22
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 24
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 25
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 26
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 27
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 28
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 29
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 30
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 31
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 01
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 02
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 03
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Jan 04
    9am to 5pm

Location
The Center for International & Public Affairs
University of Southern California
3518 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0048

Phone: (213)-740-1769
Email: LibIPA@usc.edu
 

About this library

The Library for International & Public Affairs (LIPA) is an interdisciplinary, graduate-level learning center that supports the current and anticipated research needs of students, faculty, staff, and alumni in political science, international relations, public administration, spatial science, public diplomacy, and urban and regional planning. The Library contains approximately 200,000 books, subscribes to more than 450 journals and other serial publications, and provides electronic access to a variety of scholarly resources. It also manages and provides access to a depository collection of U.S. federal government documents, a substantial collection of international documents, and serves as the regional depository in Southern California for all publications and digital resources of the European Union.

LIPA's mission is to provide excellent service and maintain collections that promote a diversity of worldviews and the free exchange of ideas guided by the principles of Article 19 in the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Please see President Folt's recent message to the USC community about the removal of the name Von KleinSmid from the Center for International & Public Affairs.

 

Directions

We invite anyone to visit our library and utilize its resources and services. LIPA is located on the northeast corner of campus (see interactive map). If you are driving to campus, the closest access to the Library for International & Public Affairs is the McCarthy Way entrance [213-740-3848], located at the intersection of West 35th Street and Figueroa Street. The entrance is open 24 hours a day. Public all-day parking in McCarthy Way Parking Structure is available for $14.00 Monday through Friday. Note that parking availability may change due to special events. For more information about parking on campus, visit the USC Transportation web site.

If you are taking the Expo Light Rail Line to campus, get off at the Expo Park/USC station located in the median of Exposition Avenue at Trousdale Parkway. Walk towards campus along Trousdale Parkway until you reach the Center for International & Public Affairs building on your right.

The Library is located in the basement of the Center for International & Public Affairs (CPA) and can be reached by using the northeast corner stairwell or the elevator. Entrances into the building and to the Library are wheelchair accessible with automated door openers.

Please note that all library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

 

Carrels and Study Spaces

LIPA has more than 200 reader seats to accommodate a wide range of study preferences, including both small and large group study tables as well as individual study carrels located throughout the book stacks and along the central atrium. Users have access to wireless network connectivity throughout all public spaces of the library as well as in the lobby before you enter. In addition, reconfigurable tables and chairs are available in the northwest corner of the library to support collaborative research and project-based group work.

 

Research Help

Library faculty are available for in-person research consultation by appointment or by asking to speak with a librarian at the circulation desk. You can email any of the following faculty in LIPA to schedule an appointment: Robert V. LabareeEimmy Solis, or Andy Rutkowski. Use the Ask-A-Librarian service for general telephone, email, and chat reference assistance or to find information about research help available at other libraries on campus.

 

Collections

Faculty within LIPA actively select print materials and online resources based on the current and anticipated research and curricular needs of the disciplines we serve. In addition, we also rely on recommendations from faculty and students to help build our collections. Requests to purchase books and DVDs, subscribe to new journals, or obtain access to electronic resources can be done online using the USC Libraries' Recommend-A-Book service. LIPA abides by all policies of the USC Libraries regarding borrowing privileges for students, faculty, staff, visiting scholars, alumni, and non-USC borrowers.

Note: Faculty requesting materials for course reserves should use the ARES online request system. If you are logging into ARES for the first time you must contact the USC Libraries' Integrated Document Delivery office at idd@usc.edu or by calling 213-740-4020 to have access privileges set to the 'Instructor' level.

 

Access to the Federal Government Collection

The general public is welcome to use the U.S. Federal Government Collection materials in LIPA. Federal depository law guarantees free and unimpeded access to the collection (44 U.S.C. § 1911). To access online electronic publications and electronic databases, LIPA maintains one public terminal.

Not all of the collection is located in LIPA. The public will need to contact the Government Documents Librarian, Eimmy Solis, eimmysol@usc.edu to request documents housed off-site in the Grand Library. Appointments are recommended, but not required. You may request an appointment by emailing Eimmy SolisAppointments are generally available between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

Instructional Services

Library faculty offer tours of LIPA to anyone interested in learning more about our resources and services. In addition, we can provide specialized course-related sessions that teach students how to effectively conduct research using the library's resources and services. Instructors are encouraged to schedule sessions accommodating up to 25 students in the Multimedia Room or contact us to conduct an in-class research session. To make a request, use the online Request-A-Class form or directly contact any of the following faculty in LIPA: Robert V. Labaree, Eimmy Solis, and Andy Rutkowski.

Please also see Library Support for Online Teaching and Research for current information about library resources and services.

 

Giving to the Library for International & Public Affairs

We welcome and greatly appreciate donations to LIPA. Information about donating to the USC Libraries can be found here.