Leavey Library

Levaey Library Exterior
Leavey Library Circulation Desk

Library Hours

  • Leavey Library
  • Tue May 18
    By Reservation
  • Wed May 19
    By Reservation
  • Thu May 20
    By Reservation
  • Fri May 21
    By Reservation
  • Sat May 22
    Closed
  • Sun May 23
    Closed
  • Mon May 24
    By Reservation
  • Tue May 25
    By Reservation
  • Wed May 26
    By Reservation
  • Thu May 27
    By Reservation
  • Fri May 28
    By Reservation
  • Sat May 29
    Closed
  • Sun May 30
    Closed
  • Mon May 31
    Closed
  • Tue Jun 01
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 02
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 03
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 04
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 05
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 06
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 07
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 08
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 09
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 10
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 11
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 12
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 13
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 14
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 15
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 16
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 17
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 18
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 19
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 20
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 21
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 22
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 23
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jun 24
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jun 25
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jun 26
    Closed
  • Sun Jun 27
    Closed
  • Mon Jun 28
    By Reservation
  • Tue Jun 29
    By Reservation
  • Wed Jun 30
    By Reservation
  • Thu Jul 01
    By Reservation
  • Fri Jul 02
    By Reservation
  • Sat Jul 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jul 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jul 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jul 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jul 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 11
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 12
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 13
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jul 14
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jul 15
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jul 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jul 17
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 18
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jul 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jul 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jul 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jul 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jul 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jul 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jul 27
    Schedule Pending

We’re excited to take a first step toward welcoming Trojans back to your campus libraries.

Reservations are now available for limited-capacity study sessions in Leavey Library and research with archives and other special collections in Doheny Library. You can make reservations now for time slots beginning March 15.  

Please visit Spring 2021 at the USC Libraries regularly for current information on library collections, programs, and services.

_________________________________________________________________________________

 

All electronic library resources for research and teaching remain available and are accessible from off campus. For subscription databases and journals, please go to USC Libraries and log in using your USC account username and password.

USC library account holders can request physical items from our circulating collections using the Interlibrary Loan platform.  For more information, see Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Get email and chat help with research and other library services

Take a virtual orientation to the USC Libraries to learn how to:

  1. Access and utilize USC research libraries
  2. Search and find the right collections and materials for you
  3. Ask a Librarian for research help

Spring 2021 schedule for Pomodoro Study Cafe

You asked, and we heard you! The Pomodoro Study Cafe will run throughout spring semester and not just during final exams.

Join us for a virtual Study Cafe from Jan. 19 - May 12, 8-11 pm Pacific Time. 
Sign up here for one day or all!

Study online with your fellow Trojans!  Using the Pomodoro Technique, you'll tackle procrastination, make progress on your readings and projects, and connect with students across the university.

Come for the #pomodoro study sessions, stay for a chance to win a $5 Starbucks gift card every hour!

Grab a break in between study sessions and watch a short video to de-stress or stretch.

 

Registration and more resources are at https://libguides.usc.edu/uscstudycafe.

 

 


 

Location

University of Southern California
University Park
651 West 35th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90089-2571

email: lvy@usc.edu
Campus map code: LVL

Circulation (213) 740-4350
Administration (213) 740-0049
Reference Consultations (213) 740-4350
ITS Customer Support (213) 740 5555

About this library

The Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Library provides a state-of-the-art learning environment for students and faculty at the University of Southern California. Leavey’s print and electronic collections, services, and technology are designed to facilitate coursework, studying, and research. Experts are available 24 hours a day to provide assistance with research and computing. Leavey’s technology-enhanced spaces support teaching and individual or group study—as well as film screenings, multimedia production and viewing, presentations, and videoconferencing.

Hours and Services:

During Fall and Spring semesters Leavey is open continuously until midnight Saturday and reopens at 9am on Sunday.  During finals the library is open continuously. Hours during holidays and summer vary.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

Collections

Leavey offers a core research and reference collection, a film library of more than 7000 DVDs, and a selection of the most requested academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can browse Leavey’s featured collections of plays, classic works of literature and philosophy, recent best-sellers, and new books. The USC Libraries also provide a wealth of online resources, including full-text journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and photographic databases.

Research and Computing Help

  • Reference librarians provide individual research assistance by consultation appointment and online at Ask-A-Librarian.
  • Computing and printing help is available 24 hours a day on the 1st and 2nd floors during the fall and spring semesters
  • Consultants from the Writing Center are available to help with course papers in the Ahmanson Information Commons (Leavey Lower Level) during the fall and spring semesters.
  • Librarians teach a variety of classes about research basics and critical strategies for finding, evaluating, and using print and online information effectively.

Services

Circulation Desk: Your USCard is also your library card. Present it at the circulation desk on the first floor to borrow or renew materials, and to obtain information about your account. You can also pay fines and report lost items or library cards.

Course Reserves: Undergraduate and graduate course reserves are available at the Leavey circulation desk. The USC Libraries’ online catalog shows a complete list of reserves materials arranged by professors’ names and course numbers. Electronic course reserves are available at reserves.usc.edu

Directions:

Leavey Library is located on the northeast corner of campus (near the intersection of Jefferson Boulevard and Figueroa Street).

Closest campus entrance to Leavey Library is Gate Entrance #3 (213) 740-3848, located at the intersection of West 35th Street and Figueroa Street, which is open 24 hours a day. Public parking is available for $10.00 Monday through Friday. Parking availability may change due to special events.

USC University Park Campus map (building "LVL" at coordinates F4) and directions to the campus. For general questions regarding parking, see the Parking Services Web site.

Please note: All visitors are required to show a photo ID to enter the library at all times. Only USC students, faculty, and staff may be present in libraries open after 9:00 p.m. or before 7:00 a.m. For more information, please see our Access and Borrowing Policies page.