Leavey Library

Levaey Library Exterior
Leavey Library Circulation Desk

Library Hours

  • Leavey Library
  • Wed Nov 13
    24 Hours
  • Thu Nov 14
    24 Hours
  • Fri Nov 15
    24 Hours
  • Sat Nov 16
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sun Nov 17
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 18
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 19
    24 Hours
  • Wed Nov 20
    24 Hours
  • Thu Nov 21
    24 Hours
  • Fri Nov 22
    24 Hours
  • Sat Nov 23
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sun Nov 24
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 25
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 26
    Open
  • Wed Nov 27
    midnight to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 28
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 29
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 30
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Dec 01
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Dec 02
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 03
    24 Hours
  • Wed Dec 04
    24 Hours
  • Thu Dec 05
    24 Hours
  • Fri Dec 06
    24 Hours
  • Sat Dec 07
    24 Hours
  • Sun Dec 08
    24 Hours
  • Mon Dec 09
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 10
    24 Hours
  • Wed Dec 11
    24 Hours
  • Thu Dec 12
    24 Hours
  • Fri Dec 13
    24 Hours
  • Sat Dec 14
    24 Hours
  • Sun Dec 15
    24 Hours
  • Mon Dec 16
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 17
    Open
  • Wed Dec 18
    midnight to 8pm
  • Thu Dec 19
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 20
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 21
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 22
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 24
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 25
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 26
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 27
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 28
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 29
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 30
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 31
    Closed
  • Wed Jan 01
    Closed
  • Thu Jan 02
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Jan 03
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Jan 04
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Jan 05
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Jan 06
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Jan 07
    9am to 5pm
  • Wed Jan 08
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Jan 09
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Jan 10
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Jan 11
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Jan 12
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Jan 13
    8am to 24 hours
  • Tue Jan 14
    24 Hours
  • Wed Jan 15
    24 Hours
  • Thu Jan 16
    24 Hours
  • Fri Jan 17
    24 Hours
  • Sat Jan 18
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sun Jan 19
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Jan 20
    noon to 8pm
  • Tue Jan 21
    8am to 24 hours
  • Wed Jan 22
    24 Hours

Location
University of Southern California
University Park
651 West 35th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90089-2571

email: lvy@usc.edu
Campus map code: LVL

Circulation (213) 740-4350
Administration (213) 740-0049
1st Floor Help Desk (213) 740-6938
2nd Floor Help Desk (213) 740-7988
Reference Consultations (213) 740-8931
ITS Customer Support (213) 740 5555

 

About this library

The Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Library provides a state-of-the-art learning environment for students and faculty at the University of Southern California. Leavey’s print and electronic collections, services, and technology are designed to facilitate coursework, studying, and research. Experts are available 24 hours a day to provide assistance with research and computing. Leavey’s technology-enhanced spaces support teaching and individual or group study—as well as film screenings, multimedia production and viewing, presentations, and videoconferencing.

 

Hours and Services:

During Fall and Spring semesters Leavey is open continuously until midnight Saturday and reopens at 9am on Sunday.  During finals the library is open continuously. Hours during holidays and summer vary.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

 

Collections

Leavey offers a core research and reference collection, a film library of more than 7000 DVDs, and a selection of the most requested academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can browse Leavey’s featured collections of plays, classic works of literature and philosophy, recent best-sellers, and new books. The USC Libraries also provide a wealth of online resources, including full-text journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and photographic databases.

 

Research and Computing Help

  • Reference librarians provide individual research assistance by consultation appointment and online at Ask-A-Librarian.
  • Computing and printing help is available 24 hours a day on the 1st and 2nd floors during the fall and spring semesters
  • Consultants from the Writing Center are available to help with course papers in the Ahmanson Information Commons (Leavey Lower Level) during the fall and spring semesters.
  • Librarians teach a variety of classes about research basics and critical strategies for finding, evaluating, and using print and online information effectively.

 

Services

Circulation Desk: Your USCard is also your library card. Present it at the circulation desk on the first floor to borrow or renew materials, and to obtain information about your account. You can also pay fines and report lost items or library cards.

Course Reserves: Undergraduate and graduate course reserves are available at the Leavey circulation desk. The USC Libraries’ online catalog shows a complete list of reserves materials arranged by professors’ names and course numbers. Electronic course reserves are available at reserves.usc.edu

 

Directions:

Leavey Library is located on the northeast corner of campus (near the intersection of Jefferson Boulevard and Figueroa Street).

Closest campus entrance to Leavey Library is Gate Entrance #3 (213) 740-3848, located at the intersection of West 35th Street and Figueroa Street, which is open 24 hours a day. Public parking is available for $10.00 Monday through Friday. Parking availability may change due to special events.

USC University Park Campus map (building "LVL" at coordinates F4) and directions to the campus. For general questions regarding parking, see the Parking Services Web site.

Please note: All visitors are required to show a photo ID to enter the library at all times. Only USC students, faculty, and staff may be present in libraries open after 9:00 p.m. or before 7:00 a.m. For more information, please see our Access and Borrowing Policies page.