Leavey Library

Leavey Library Exterior
Leavey Library Circulation Desk

Library Hours

  • Leavey Library
  • Tue Oct 26
    24 Hours
  • Wed Oct 27
    24 Hours
  • Thu Oct 28
    24 Hours
  • Fri Oct 29
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Oct 30
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Oct 31
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 01
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 02
    24 Hours
  • Wed Nov 03
    24 Hours
  • Thu Nov 04
    24 Hours
  • Fri Nov 05
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Nov 06
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Nov 07
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 08
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 09
    24 Hours
  • Wed Nov 10
    24 Hours
  • Thu Nov 11
    24 Hours
  • Fri Nov 12
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Nov 13
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Nov 14
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 15
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 16
    24 Hours
  • Wed Nov 17
    24 Hours
  • Thu Nov 18
    24 Hours
  • Fri Nov 19
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Nov 20
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Nov 21
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 22
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 23
    Open
  • Wed Nov 24
    midnight to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 25
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 26
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Nov 27
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Nov 28
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Nov 29
    24 Hours
  • Tue Nov 30
    24 Hours
  • Wed Dec 01
    24 Hours
  • Thu Dec 02
    24 Hours
  • Fri Dec 03
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Dec 04
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Dec 05
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Dec 06
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 07
    24 Hours
  • Wed Dec 08
    24 Hours
  • Thu Dec 09
    24 Hours
  • Fri Dec 10
    24 Hours
  • Sat Dec 11
    24 Hours
  • Sun Dec 12
    24 Hours
  • Mon Dec 13
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 14
    Open
  • Wed Dec 15
    midnight to 8pm
  • Thu Dec 16
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 17
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 18
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 19
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 20
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Dec 21
    9am to 5pm
  • Wed Dec 22
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 24
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 25
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 26
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 27
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 28
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 29
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 30
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 31
    Closed
  • Sat Jan 01
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 02
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 03
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Jan 04
    9am to 5pm

Celebrate Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) with Leavey Library, Oct. 25-Nov. 2.

We’re excited to welcome Trojans back to your campus libraries.

Leavey Library is open for students to study and use our collections.  Reservations are no longer required for study spaces. Reservations for group study rooms may be made online.

Leavey Library is generally open 24 hours when classes are in session during the fall and spring semesters, with some exceptions.  Please check the hours listed on the USC Libraries Hours page before coming to the library, so you are aware of shorter hours or closures during holidays or breaks.

The USC Libraries main page is regularly updated with current information on library collections, programs, and services.

_________________________________________________________________________________

All electronic library resources for research and teaching remain available and are accessible from off campus. For subscription databases and journals, please go to USC Libraries and log in using your USC account username and password.

USC library account holders can request physical items from our circulating collections using the Interlibrary Loan platform.  For more information, see Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Get email and chat help with research and other library services

Take a virtual orientation to the USC Libraries to learn how to:

  1. Access and utilize USC research libraries
  2. Search and find the right collections and materials for you
  3. Ask a Librarian for research help
     

 

Location

651 West 35th St.
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-2571

email: lvy@usc.edu
Campus map code: LVL

Circulation (213) 740-4350
Administration (213) 740-0049
Reference Consultations (213) 740-4350
ITS Customer Support (213) 740-5555

About the Library

The Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Library provides a state-of-the-art learning environment for students and faculty at the University of Southern California. Leavey’s print and electronic collections, services, and technology are designed to facilitate coursework, studying, and research. Experts are available 24 hours a day to provide assistance with research and computing. Leavey’s technology-enhanced spaces support teaching and individual or group study—as well as film screenings, multimedia production and viewing, presentations, and videoconferencing.

For a self-guided tour of Leavey Library, click here

Hours and Services

During normal Fall and Spring semesters Leavey is open continuously until midnight Saturday and reopens at 9am on Sunday.  During finals the library is open continuously. Hours during holidays and summer vary.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.
 

Collections

Leavey offers a core research and reference collection, a film library of more than 7000 DVDs, and a selection of the most requested academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can browse Leavey’s featured collections of plays, classic works of literature and philosophy, recent best-sellers, and new books. The USC Libraries also provide a wealth of online resources, including full-text journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and photographic databases.
 

Research and Computing Help

  • Reference librarians provide individual research assistance by consultation appointment and online at Ask-A-Librarian.
  • Computing and printing help is available 24 hours a day on the 1st and 2nd floors during the fall and spring semesters
  • Consultants from the Writing Center are available to help with course papers in the Ahmanson Information Commons (Leavey Lower Level) during the fall and spring semesters.
  • Librarians teach a variety of classes about research basics and critical strategies for finding, evaluating, and using print and online information effectively.
     

Services

Circulation Desk: Your USCard is also your library card. Present it at the circulation desk on the first floor to borrow or renew materials, and to obtain information about your account. You can also pay fines and report lost items or library cards.

Course Reserves: Undergraduate and graduate course reserves are available at the Leavey circulation desk. The USC Libraries’ online catalog shows a complete list of reserves materials arranged by professors’ names and course numbers. Electronic course reserves are available at reserves.usc.edu.
 

Directions

Leavey Library is situated in the northeast corner of campus. For general questions regarding parking, see the Parking Services Web site. The closest 24-hour entrance to campus near Leavey Library is at USC McCarthy Way, accessible off of Figueroa Street. Parking availability may change due to special events.

Please note: All visitors are required to show a photo ID to enter the library at all times. Only USC students, faculty, and staff may be present in libraries open after 9:00 p.m. or before 7:00 a.m.