Leavey Library

Leavey Library Exterior
Leavey Library Circulation Desk

Library Hours

  • Leavey Library
  • Thu Dec 01
    24 Hours
  • Fri Dec 02
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Dec 03
    8am to 24 hours
  • Sun Dec 04
    24 Hours
  • Mon Dec 05
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 06
    24 Hours
  • Wed Dec 07
    24 Hours
  • Thu Dec 08
    24 Hours
  • Fri Dec 09
    24 Hours
  • Sat Dec 10
    24 Hours
  • Sun Dec 11
    24 Hours
  • Mon Dec 12
    24 Hours
  • Tue Dec 13
    24 Hours
  • Wed Dec 14
    midnight to 8pm
  • Thu Dec 15
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 16
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 17
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 18
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 19
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 20
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 21
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 22
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 23
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 24
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 25
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 26
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 27
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 28
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 29
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 30
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 31
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 01
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 02
    Closed
  • Tue Jan 03
    9am to 5pm
  • Wed Jan 04
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Jan 05
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Jan 06
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Jan 07
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Jan 08
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Jan 09
    8am to midnight
  • Tue Jan 10
    8am to midnight
  • Wed Jan 11
    8am to midnight
  • Thu Jan 12
    8am to midnight
  • Fri Jan 13
    8am to midnight
  • Sat Jan 14
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Jan 15
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Jan 16
    noon to 8pm
  • Tue Jan 17
    8am to 24 hours
  • Wed Jan 18
    24 Hours
  • Thu Jan 19
    24 Hours
  • Fri Jan 20
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Jan 21
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Jan 22
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Jan 23
    24 Hours
  • Tue Jan 24
    24 Hours
  • Wed Jan 25
    24 Hours
  • Thu Jan 26
    24 Hours
  • Fri Jan 27
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Jan 28
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Jan 29
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Jan 30
    24 Hours
  • Tue Jan 31
    24 Hours
  • Wed Feb 01
    24 Hours
  • Thu Feb 02
    24 Hours
  • Fri Feb 03
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Feb 04
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Feb 05
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Feb 06
    24 Hours
  • Tue Feb 07
    24 Hours
  • Wed Feb 08
    24 Hours
  • Thu Feb 09
    24 Hours

Summer 2022 hours are listed on the USC Libraries Hours page.

Please check the hours listed on the USC Libraries Hours page before coming to the library, so you are aware of shorter hours or closures during holidays, breaks, and weekends.

The USC Libraries main page is regularly updated with current information on library collections, programs, and services.

_________________________________________________________________________________

All electronic library resources for research and teaching remain available and are accessible from off campus. For subscription databases and journals, please go to USC Libraries and log in using your USC account username and password.

USC library account holders can request physical items from our circulating collections using the Interlibrary Loan platform.  For more information, see Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Get email and chat help with research and other library services

Take a virtual orientation to the USC Libraries to learn how to:

  1. Access and utilize USC research libraries
  2. Search and find the right collections and materials for you
  3. Ask a Librarian for research help
     

 

Location

651 West 35th St.
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-2571

email: lvy@usc.edu
Campus map code: LVL

Circulation (213) 740-4350
Administration (213) 740-0049
ITS Customer Support (213) 740-5555

About the Library

The Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Library provides a state-of-the-art learning environment for students and faculty at the University of Southern California. Leavey’s print and electronic collections, services, and technology are designed to facilitate coursework, studying, and research. Experts are available 24 hours a day to provide assistance with research and computing. Leavey’s technology-enhanced spaces support teaching and individual or group study—as well as film screenings, multimedia production and viewing, presentations, and videoconferencing.

For a self-guided tour of Leavey Library, click here

Hours and Services

Please check the hours listed on the USC Libraries Hours page before coming to the library, so you are aware of shorter hours or closures. During normal Fall and Spring semesters Leavey is generally open 24 hours Monday through Thursday with shorter hours Friday-Sunday. During finals the library is open continuously 24 hours. Hours during holidays and summer vary and are generally shorter.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.
 

Collections

Leavey offers a core research and reference collection, a film library of more than 7000 DVDs, and a selection of the most requested academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can browse Leavey’s featured collections of plays, classic works of literature and philosophy, recent bestsellers, and new books. The USC Libraries also provide a wealth of online resources, including full-text journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and photographic databases.
 

Research and Computing Help

  • Reference librarians provide individual research assistance by consultation appointment and online at Ask-A-Librarian.
  • Computing and printing help is available 24 hours a day on the 1st and 2nd floors during the fall and spring semesters
  • The Ahmanson Information Commons (Leavey Lower Level) houses the USC ITS (Information Technology Services) Learning Environment. Printing, laptop checkout, individual and collaborative study spaces, and software/computer support are available. 
  • Librarians teach a variety of classes about research basics and critical strategies for finding, evaluating, and using print and online information effectively.
     

Services

Circulation Desk: Your USCard is also your library card. Present it at the circulation desk on the first floor to borrow or renew materials, and to obtain information about your account. You can also pay fines and report lost items or library cards.

Course Reserves: Undergraduate and graduate course reserves are available at the Leavey circulation desk. The USC Libraries’ online catalog shows a complete list of reserves materials arranged by professors’ names and course numbers. Electronic course reserves are available at reserves.usc.edu.
 

Directions

Leavey Library is situated in the northeast corner of campus. For general questions regarding parking, see the Parking Services Web site. The closest 24-hour entrance to campus near Leavey Library is at USC McCarthy Way, accessible off of Figueroa Street. Parking availability may change due to special events.

Please note: All visitors are required to show a photo ID to enter the library at all times. Only USC students, faculty, and staff may be present in libraries open after 9:00 p.m. or before 7:00 a.m.