Leavey Library

Leavey Library Exterior
Leavey Library Circulation Desk

Library Hours

  • Leavey Library
  • Wed Feb 28
    24 Hours
  • Thu Feb 29
    24 Hours
  • Fri Mar 01
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Mar 02
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Mar 03
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Mar 04
    24 Hours
  • Tue Mar 05
    24 Hours
  • Wed Mar 06
    24 Hours
  • Thu Mar 07
    24 Hours
  • Fri Mar 08
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Mar 09
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Mar 10
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Mar 11
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Mar 12
    9am to 5pm
  • Wed Mar 13
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Mar 14
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Mar 15
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Mar 16
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Mar 17
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Mar 18
    8am to 24 hours
  • Tue Mar 19
    24 Hours
  • Wed Mar 20
    24 Hours
  • Thu Mar 21
    24 Hours
  • Fri Mar 22
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Mar 23
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Mar 24
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Mar 25
    24 Hours
  • Tue Mar 26
    24 Hours
  • Wed Mar 27
    24 Hours
  • Thu Mar 28
    24 Hours
  • Fri Mar 29
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Mar 30
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Mar 31
    9am to 24 hours
  • Mon Apr 01
    24 Hours
  • Tue Apr 02
    24 Hours
  • Wed Apr 03
    24 Hours
  • Thu Apr 04
    24 Hours
  • Fri Apr 05
    Closes at Midnight
  • Sat Apr 06
    9am to 9pm
  • Sun Apr 07
  • Mon Apr 08
  • Tue Apr 09
  • Wed Apr 10
  • Thu Apr 11
  • Fri Apr 12
  • Sat Apr 13
  • Sun Apr 14
  • Mon Apr 15
  • Tue Apr 16
  • Wed Apr 17
  • Thu Apr 18
  • Fri Apr 19
  • Sat Apr 20
  • Sun Apr 21
  • Mon Apr 22
  • Tue Apr 23
  • Wed Apr 24
  • Thu Apr 25
  • Fri Apr 26
  • Sat Apr 27
  • Sun Apr 28
  • Mon Apr 29
  • Tue Apr 30
  • Wed May 01
  • Thu May 02
  • Fri May 03
  • Sat May 04
  • Sun May 05
  • Mon May 06
  • Tue May 07
  • Wed May 08

Location

651 West 35th St.
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-2571

email: lvy@usc.edu
Campus map code: LVL

Circulation (213) 740-4350
Administration (213) 740-0049
ITS Customer Support (213) 740-5555

Please note: All visitors are required to show a photo ID to enter the library at all times. Only USC students, faculty, and staff may be present in libraries open after 9:00 p.m. or before 7:00 a.m.


About the Library

The Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Library provides a state-of-the-art learning environment for students and faculty at the University of Southern California. Leavey’s print and electronic collections, services, and technology are designed to facilitate coursework, studying, and research. Experts are available 24 hours a day to provide assistance with research and computing. Leavey’s technology-enhanced spaces support teaching and individual or group study—as well as film screenings, multimedia production and viewing, presentations, and videoconferencing.

Self-guided tour of Leavey Library

Hours and Services

Please check the hours listed on the USC Libraries Hours page before coming to the library, so you are aware of shorter hours or closures during holidays, breaks, and weekends. During normal Fall and Spring semesters Leavey is generally open 24 hours Monday through Thursday with shorter hours Friday-Sunday. During finals the library is open continuously 24 hours. Hours during holidays and summer vary and are generally shorter.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.
 

Collections

Leavey offers a core research and reference collection, a film library of more than 7000 DVDs, and a selection of the most requested academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can browse Leavey’s featured collections of plays, classic works of literature and philosophy, recent bestsellers, and new books. The USC Libraries also provide a wealth of online resources, including full-text journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and photographic databases.
 

Research and Computing Help

  • Reference librarians provide individual research assistance by consultation appointment and online via chat and/or email at Ask-A-Librarian.
  • Computing and printing help is available 24 hours a day on the 1st and 2nd floors during the fall and spring semesters
  • The Ahmanson Information Commons (Leavey Lower Level) houses the USC ITS (Information Technology Services) Learning Environment. Printing, laptop checkout, individual and collaborative study spaces, and software/computer support are available. 
  • Librarians teach a variety of classes about research basics and critical strategies for finding, evaluating, and using print and online information effectively.
     

Services

Circulation Desk: Your USCard is also your library card. Present it at the circulation desk on the first floor to borrow or renew materials, and to obtain information about your account. You can also pay fines and report lost items or library cards.

Course Reserves: Undergraduate and graduate course reserves are available at the Leavey circulation desk. The USC Libraries’ online catalog shows a complete list of reserves materials arranged by professors’ names and course numbers. Electronic course reserves are available at reserves.usc.edu.
 

Directions

Leavey Library is situated in the northeast corner of campus. For general questions regarding parking, see the Parking Services Web site. The closest 24-hour entrance to campus near Leavey Library is at USC McCarthy Way, accessible off of Figueroa Street. Parking availability may change due to special events.

 


Take a virtual orientation to the USC Libraries to learn how to:

  1. Access and utilize USC research libraries
  2. Search and find the right collections and materials for you
  3. Ask a Librarian for research help