Past Scripter Awards - 2001

Wonder Boys

The writers of Wonder Boys, the rollicking story of a wild literary weekend that turns a university upside down, received academia's unique honor for film adaptation, the University of Southern California Scripter® Award, at a dinner March 5, 2001.

Novelist Michael Chabon was modest about receiving his Crystal Book trophy from Steven Zaillian, the versatile book adapter who has himself won the award three times. Said Chabon, "I feel like the Olympic medal for diving was given to the guy who installed the diving board."

Curtis Hanson, director of Wonder Boys and himself a previous Scripter® winner for his screenplay of L.A. Confidential, gave screenwriter Steve Kloves his award. "I've always been ambivalent about awards," joked Kloves, "which has been easy up till now, because I'd never won one."

A capacity audience of industry and literary figures attended the event, a benefit for the ongoing restoration and technology upgrade of USC's landmark Edward L. Doheny, Jr. Memorial Library. The ceremony was held in front of Mudd Hall of Philosophy on the University Park campus, with the pre-event reception inside Mudd Hall's Hoose Library of Philosophy.

Gavin MacLeod served as master of ceremonies for the evening, while Hal Kanter was grand master of ceremonies.

More Information:
Film Cast List
Award Ceremony Gallery
Event Summary Press Release