VKC Library

VKC Library Courtyard
VKC Library Interior

Library Hours

  • VKC Library
  • Thu Apr 02
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 03
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 04
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 05
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 06
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 07
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 08
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 09
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 10
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 11
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 12
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 13
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 14
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 15
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 16
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 17
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 18
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 19
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 20
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 21
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 22
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 23
    Closed
  • Fri Apr 24
    Closed
  • Sat Apr 25
    Closed
  • Sun Apr 26
    Closed
  • Mon Apr 27
    Closed
  • Tue Apr 28
    Closed
  • Wed Apr 29
    Closed
  • Thu Apr 30
    Closed
  • Fri May 01
    Closed
  • Sat May 02
    Closed
  • Sun May 03
    Closed
  • Mon May 04
    Closed
  • Tue May 05
    Closed
  • Wed May 06
    Closed
  • Thu May 07
    Closed
  • Fri May 08
    Closed
  • Sat May 09
    Closed
  • Sun May 10
    Closed
  • Mon May 11
    Closed
  • Tue May 12
    Closed
  • Wed May 13
    Closed
  • Thu May 14
    Closed
  • Fri May 15
    Closed
  • Sat May 16
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun May 17
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon May 18
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue May 19
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed May 20
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu May 21
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri May 22
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat May 23
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun May 24
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon May 25
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue May 26
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed May 27
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu May 28
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri May 29
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat May 30
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun May 31
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jun 01
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jun 02
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jun 03
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jun 04
    Schedule Pending
  • Fri Jun 05
    Schedule Pending
  • Sat Jun 06
    Schedule Pending
  • Sun Jun 07
    Schedule Pending
  • Mon Jun 08
    Schedule Pending
  • Tue Jun 09
    Schedule Pending
  • Wed Jun 10
    Schedule Pending
  • Thu Jun 11
    Schedule Pending

Location
The Von KleinSmid Center
University of Southern California
3518 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0048

Phone: (213)-740-1769
Email: vkc@usc.edu
Campus map code: VKC

 

About this library

The Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs (VKC Library) is an interdisciplinary, graduate-level learning center that supports the current and anticipated research needs of students, faculty, staff, and alumni in political science, international relations, public administration, spatial science, public diplomacy, and urban and regional planning. The Library contains approximately 200,000 books, subscribes to more than 450 journals and other serial publications, and provides electronic access to a variety of scholarly resources. It also manages and provides access to a depository collection of U.S. federal government documents, a substantial collection of international documents, and serves as the regional depository in Southern California for all publications and digital resources of the European Union.

The Von KleinSmid Center Library's mission is to provide excellent service and maintain collections that promote a diversity of worldviews and the free exchange of ideas guided by the principles of Article 19 in the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

 

Directions

We invite anyone to visit our library and utilize its resources and services. The VKC Library is located on the northeast corner of campus (see interactive map). If you are driving to campus, the closest access to the VKC Library is the McCarthy Way entrance [213-740-3848], located at the intersection of West 35th Street and Figueroa Street. The entrance is open 24 hours a day. Public all-day parking in McCarthy Way Parking Structure is available for $14.00 Monday through Friday. Note that parking availability may change due to special events. For more information about parking on campus, visit the USC Transportation web site.

If you are taking the Expo Light Rail Line to campus, get off at the Expo Park/USC station located in the median of Exposition Avenue at Trousdale Parkway. Walk towards campus along Trousdale Parkway until you reach the Von KleinSmid Center building on your right.

The Library is located in the basement of the VKC building and can be reached by using the northeast corner stairwell or the elevator. Entrances into the building and to the Library are wheelchair accessible with automated door openers.

Please note that all library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

 

Carrels and Study Spaces

The VKC Library has more than 200 reader seats to accommodate a wide range of study preferences, including both small and large group study tables as well as individual study carrels located throughout the book stacks and along the central atrium. Users have access to wireless network connectivity throughout all public spaces of the library as well as in the lobby before you enter. In addition, reconfigurable tables and chairs are available in the northwest corner of the library to support collaborative research and project-based group work.

 

Research Help

Library faculty are available for in-person research consultation by appointment or by asking to speak with a librarian at the circulation desk. You can email any of the following faculty in the VKC Library to schedule an appointment: Robert V. LabareeEimmy Solis, or Andy Rutkowski. Use the Ask-A-Librarian service for general telephone, email, and chat reference assistance or to find information about research help available at other libraries on campus.

 

Collections

Faculty within the VKC Library actively select print materials and online resources based on the current and anticipated research and curricular needs of the disciplines we serve. In addition, we also rely on recommendations from faculty and students to help build our collections. Requests to purchase books and DVDs, subscribe to new journals, or obtain access to electronic resources can be done online using the USC Libraries' Recommend-A-Book service. The VKC Library abides by all policies of the USC Libraries regarding borrowing privileges for students, faculty, staff, visiting scholars, alumni, and non-USC borrowers.

Note: Faculty requesting materials for course reserves should use the ARES online request system. If you are logging into ARES for the first time you must contact the USC Libraries' Integrated Document Delivery office at idd@usc.edu or by calling 213-740-4020 to have access privileges set to the 'Instructor' level.

 

Access to the Federal Government Collection

All USC Libraries are not publicly accessible until further notice. There is no access to government documents in print. However, there is still freely available government information available through this research guide: https://libguides.usc.edu/govdocs. Online reference consultations through video, chat and email are still available, please email the Government Documents Librarian, Eimmy Solis at eimmysol@usc.edu. 

The general public is welcome to use the U.S. Federal Government Collection materials in the VKC Library. Federal depository law guarantees free and unimpeded access to the collection (44 U.S.C. § 1911). To access online electronic publications and electronic databases, the VKC Library maintains one public terminal.

Not all of the collection is located in the VKC Library. The public will need to contact the Government Documents Librarian, Eimmy Solis, eimmysol@usc.edu to request documents housed off-site in the Grand Library. Appointments are recommended, but not required. You may request an appointment by emailing Eimmy SolisAppointments are generally available between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

Instructional Services

Library faculty offer tours of the VKC Library to anyone interested in learning more about our resources and services. In addition, we can provide specialized course-related sessions that teach students how to effectively conduct research using the library's resources and services. Instructors are encouraged to schedule sessions accommodating up to 25 students in the Multimedia Room or contact us to conduct an in-class research session. To make a request, use the online Request-A-Class form or directly contact any of the following faculty in the VKC Library: Robert V. Labaree, Eimmy Solis, and Andy Rutkowski.

 

Giving to the VKC Library

We welcome and greatly appreciate donations to the Von KleinSmid Center Library. Information about donating to the USC Libraries can be found here.