VKC Library

VKC Library Courtyard
VKC Library Interior

Library Hours

  • VKC Library
  • Sun Nov 17
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 18
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 19
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 20
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Nov 21
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Nov 22
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Nov 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Nov 24
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Nov 25
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Nov 26
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Nov 27
    8am to 5pm
  • Thu Nov 28
    Closed
  • Fri Nov 29
    Closed
  • Sat Nov 30
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 01
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Dec 02
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Dec 03
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 04
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Dec 05
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Dec 06
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Dec 07
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Dec 08
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Dec 09
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Dec 10
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 11
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Dec 12
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Dec 13
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Dec 14
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Dec 15
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Dec 16
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Dec 17
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Dec 18
    8am to 5pm
  • Thu Dec 19
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Dec 20
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Dec 21
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 22
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 23
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 24
    Closed
  • Wed Dec 25
    Closed
  • Thu Dec 26
    Closed
  • Fri Dec 27
    Closed
  • Sat Dec 28
    Closed
  • Sun Dec 29
    Closed
  • Mon Dec 30
    Closed
  • Tue Dec 31
    Closed
  • Wed Jan 01
    Closed
  • Thu Jan 02
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Jan 03
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Jan 04
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 05
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 06
    9am to 5pm
  • Tue Jan 07
    9am to 5pm
  • Wed Jan 08
    9am to 5pm
  • Thu Jan 09
    9am to 5pm
  • Fri Jan 10
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Jan 11
    Closed
  • Sun Jan 12
    Closed
  • Mon Jan 13
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Jan 14
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Jan 15
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Jan 16
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Jan 17
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Jan 18
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Jan 19
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Jan 20
    Closed
  • Tue Jan 21
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Jan 22
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Jan 23
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Jan 24
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Jan 25
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Jan 26
    noon to 8pm

Location
The Von KleinSmid Center
University of Southern California
3518 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0048

Phone: (213)-740-1769
Email: vkc@usc.edu
Campus map code: VKC

 

About this library

The Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs (VKC Library) is an interdisciplinary, graduate-level learning center that supports the current and anticipated research needs of students, faculty, staff, and alumni in political science, international relations, public administration, spatial science, public diplomacy, and urban and regional planning. The Library contains approximately 200,000 books, subscribes to more than 450 journals and other serial publications, and provides electronic access to a variety of scholarly resources. It also manages and provides access to a depository collection of U.S. federal government documents, a substantial collection of international documents, and serves as the regional depository in Southern California for all publications and digital resources of the European Union.

The Von KleinSmid Center Library's mission is to provide excellent service and maintain collections that promote a diversity of worldviews and the free exchange of ideas guided by the principles of Article 19 in the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

All library services stop 15 minutes before closing, and all patrons are asked to leave before closing time.

 

Directions

We invite anyone to visit our library and utilize its resources and services. The VKC Library is located on the northeast corner of campus (see interactive map). If you are driving to campus, the closest access to the VKC Library is the McCarthy Way entrance [213-740-3848], located at the intersection of West 35th Street and Figueroa Street. The entrance is open 24 hours a day. Public all-day parking in McCarthy Way Parking Structure is available for $14.00 Monday through Friday. Note that parking availability may change due to special events. For more information about parking on campus, visit the USC Transportation web site.

If you are taking the Expo Light Rail Line to campus, get off at the Expo Park/USC station located in the median of Exposition Avenue at Trousdale Parkway. Walk towards campus along Trousdale Parkway until you reach the Von KleinSmid Center building on your right.

The Library is located in the basement of the VKC building and can be reached by using the northeast corner stairwell or the elevator. Entrances into the building and to the Library are wheelchair accessible with automated door openers.

 

Carrels and Study Spaces

The VKC Library has more than 200 reader seats to accommodate a wide range of study preferences, including both small and large group study tables as well as individual study carrels located throughout the book stacks and along the central atrium. Users have access to wireless network connectivity throughout all public spaces of the library as well as in the lobby before you enter. In addition, reconfigurable tables and chairs are available in the northwest corner of the library to support collaborative research and project-based group work.

 

Research Help

Library faculty are available for in-person research consultation by appointment or by asking to speak with a librarian at the circulation desk. You can email any of the following faculty in the VKC Library to schedule an appointment: Robert V. LabareeEimmy Solis, or Andy Rutkowski. Use the Ask-A-Librarian service for general telephone, email, and chat reference assistance or to find information about research help available at other libraries on campus.

 

Collections

Faculty within the VKC Library actively select print materials and online resources based on the current and anticipated research and curricular needs of the disciplines we serve. In addition, we also rely on recommendations from faculty and students to help build our collections. Requests to purchase books and DVDs, subscribe to new journals, or obtain access to electronic resources can be done online using the USC Libraries' Recommend-A-Book service. The VKC Library abides by all policies of the USC Libraries regarding borrowing privileges for students, faculty, staff, visiting scholars, alumni, and non-USC borrowers.

Note: Faculty requesting materials for course reserves should use the ARES online request system. If you are logging into ARES for the first time you must contact the USC Libraries' Integrated Document Delivery office at idd@usc.edu or by calling 213-740-4020 to have access privileges set to the 'Instructor' level.

 

Instructional Services

Library faculty offer specialized tours of the VKC Library to anyone interested in learning more about our resources and services. In addition, we provide course-related research methods instruction in our Multimedia Room for graduate and undergraduate students in political science, international relations, public administration, and urban planning. To request an instruction session, use the online Request-A-Class service or contact any of the following faculty in the VKC Library: Robert V. Labaree, Eimmy Solis, and Andy Rutkowski.

 

Giving to the VKC Library

We welcome and greatly appreciate donations to the Von KleinSmid Center Library. Information about donating to the USC Libraries can be found here.