April 5, 2023 - April 5, 2023
Sidney Center (previously known as the Harman Academy); Doheny Memorial Library, room 241

Memory is one of the most prominent features of human cognition and one that is becoming increasingly important for AI systems. AI has memory, but can AI imagine?   

Swabha Swayamdipta, Viterbi, CAIS

Kate Crawford, Annenberg 

  • Profile Photo

    Swabha Swayamdipta

    Gabilan Assistant Professor and Assistant Professor of Computer Science

    Swabha Swayamdipta will be joining USC as the Gabilan Assistant Professor and an Assistant Professor of CS in Fall 2022. She is currently a postdoc at the Allen Institute for AI, closely affiliated with the University of Washington, working with Yejin Choi. She received her PhD in 2019 from CMU, where she was advised by Noah A. Smith and Chris Dyer. Her work has received an Outstanding Paper Awards at NeurIPS 2021 and ICML 2022, and a Best Paper Honorable Mention at ACL 2020.

  • Profile photo

    Kate Crawford

    Research Professor, Annenberg

    Kate Crawford is a leading scholar of the social and political implications of artificial intelligence. Her latest book is Atlas of AI: Power, Politics and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence (Yale University Press, 2021). Crawford is a research professor of communication and STS at USC Annenberg, a senior principal researcher at MSR-NYC, and she currently holds the inaugural visiting chair for AI and justice at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris. Her academic research has been published in journals such as New Media & Society; Science, Technology & Human Values; Information, Communication & Society; and Nature. 

    Crawford’s work also includes collaborative projects and visual investigations. Her project Anatomy of an AI System with Vladan Joler — which maps the full lifecycle of the Amazon Echo — won the Beazley Design of the Year Award in 2019, and is in the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Her collaboration with the artist Trevor Paglen, "Excavating AI," won the Ayrton Prize from the British Society for the History of Science.