Past Scripter Awards - 2003

The Hours

The 15th annual USC Scripter® Award brought two renowned writers to Doheny Memorial Library: Pulitzer-prize winner Michael Cunningham and screenwriter Sir David Hare. Their work on The Hours was honored at the ceremony held on Saturday, March 15, 2003.

On hand to present Michael Cunningham with his Scripter crystal book was Academy Award-nominee Julianne Moore. Oscar winner Robert Towne, who served as selection committee chair, presented the Scripter award to David Hare.

USC alumnus and Emmy-winning actor John Ritter served as master of ceremonies, with legendary comedy writer Hal Kanter returning as grand master of ceremonies. Other presenters included Chief Information Officer and Dean of the University Libraries Jerry Campbell, who gave a special award to the Scripter co-founders and event committee co-chairs - Marjorie Lord Volk and Glenn Sonnenberg.

As part of the 15th anniversary celebration, a special tribute was created to honor the seven chairs who have stewarded the selection committee throughout the years. Four of the seven former chairs were in attendance, including Robert Towne (Scripter XV), Albert Ruddy (Scripter XIV), Steven Zaillian (Scripter XII) and Marjorie Volk (Scripter I-VIII.) Best wishes were sent from the other three former chairs: Anthony Minghella (Scripter XI), Lawrence Kasdan (Scripter IX and X) and Scott Frank (Scripter VIII.)

The evening concluded with a reading by John Ritter from Virginia Woolf's novel Mrs. Dalloway, the inspiration for The Hours, accompanied by a special musical arrangement of the film's musical score by conductor Jason Goldman and the mini-orchestra of students from the USC Thornton School of Music.

More Information:
Film Cast List
Award Ceremony Gallery
Event Summary Press Release