7 Databases Found

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, spans the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

The National Archives released the 1940 census population schedules more than 3.8 million pages) to the public. In order to find a person in the census, you first need to determine the appropriate enumeration district (E.D) number. The E.D can be found by searching census district maps and descriptions. The digitized schedules can be saved,shared or downloaded.Besides name, age, relationship, and occupation, the 1940 census included questions about internal migration; employment status; participation in the New Deal Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), Works Progress Administration (WPA), and National Youth Administration (NYA) programs; and years of education.

Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

A vast "Index of Indexes", and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925.

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

19th Century UK Periodicals is a new multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It provides an invaluable fully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. All the original color work has been specially captured for this program.